mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Wishing You All A Very Merry Christmas Eve!

on December 24, 2011

My husband’s family is Italian and so tonight we feast on fish.  I know many Italians have the meal of the “seven fishes”, but I am fairly certain we have more than seven fish dishes, I think the idea is the more, the better.  Every year I make a different fish dish to contribute the feast, I’ve made Paella, Marsicada, Shrimp in Garlic Sauce, Clams in Wine Sauce, etc, but this year I made something that I have never even tried before, but sounded amazing, Cioppino!  It’s basically a medley of fish and/or shellfish in a delicious broth that you serve in a bowl with crusty bread for dipping.  I made my Cioppino with Littleneck clams, Mussels, Squid and Shrimp, and while it was fairly easy to make, it tastes wonderful.  I used this recipe as a base, but doubled the shallots, used fresh, peeled tomatoes instead of canned, no tomato paste and lots and lots of garlic (probably 20 cloves, maybe more).

Hope your Christmas Eve is filled with family and friends, good food and wine, and lots and lots of happiness!

Leave a Reply

