mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

How Much Food Do You Waste?

on January 18, 2012

Ok, I admit it.  I waste food.  A half empty box of stale (fillintheblank), a forgotten tupperware of uneaten leftovers, the occassional moldy or shrivled piece of produce.  I like to think it’s not as much as the worst offenders, but if I’m wasting anything I can hardly point the finger with confidence.

Whole Foods blogger, Anna Madrona hit close to home with “Budget Booster: Trim Your Food Waste.”  Aside from the monetary implications (which resonate with all of us these days!) It hit home for me because although I like to think I’m making a lot of smart food choices for myself and my family I tend to ease up on my choices once the meal is served.  I also tend to fall back on the old, “living in a NYC apartment doesn’t really allow for much gardening.  ha….ha….”  Although it’s true, there are still ways to make smarter choices about avoiding food waste.  In the city that never sleeps, the last thing we want keeping us up at night is too much garbage.  Trust me, we already have more than enough.  But no matter where you live, there are changes to be made.  Especially since Madrona reports that we waste upwards of 40% of our food, which requires “300 million barrels of oil” to cart away!  Ouch.

To do my part, I’m going to work harder to buy bulk (even if that means storing quinoa under my bed) and get smarter about ordering out.  That probably goes hand in hand with eating my leftovers.  A two-for-one.  How efficient!

Use it up, wear it out, make it do, or do without. – New England Proverb

Leave a Reply

