mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Homemade Cough Syrup?

on February 1, 2012

Someone in our house has had a cold since September, it just keep rotating between us and the kids.  Unless there is a fever or serious infection, I try not to medicate, so what’s the alternative? My mother swears by her homemade cough syrup and while the logical part of me is skeptical, it has always helped ease my coughs.  Placebo effect?  Perhaps.  But, there is something to be said about why these homemade remedies have been passed on through several generations.  The syrup is simple to make, give it a try and let us know what you think.

  • peel and slice a carrot
  •  place it in a bowl
  • sprinkle with 1 tablespoon of brown sugar
  • cover the bowl with a napkin and let sit for 12 hours
  • take 1 teaspoon of the syrup every 4-5 hours as needed

If you’re feeling extra brave, here are some more cold remedies from around the world, http://www.organicauthority.com/health/cold-cures-home-remedies-from-around-the-world.html.

Stay Healthy!

6 responses to “Homemade Cough Syrup?

  1. wartica says:

    Thanks for the valuable tips; I’ve never tried this before, and I want to now:) The problem with the store brands is that you don’t truly know what other chemicals are in it. Great post and I look forward to sharing more from you:)

  2. Edward Yau says:

    Lemon, honey, crushed fresh ginger, hot water.. make sure you chew on the ginger pieces as you drink. The heat from fluid and the ginger soothes your chest and should help the cough go away, hopefully!

    • mysuperfoods says:

      Thanks, Edward. Have you tried this with kids? Mine are always skeptical of “pieces” when they don’t recognize them. The combination sounds great though. I want to try it!

  3. more says:

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after going through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m certainly happy I discovered it and I’ll be
    book-marking it and checking back regularly!

Leave a Reply

