mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Happy Leap Day. For Me, It Just Means Finding One Extra Dinner Idea.

on February 29, 2012

Leap year.  One extra day.  Some people are positioning it as the chance to do something you normally wouldn’t.  A free pass.  Woo hoo!

For me, it’s like adding and extra “What’s For Dinner?” to my calendar.  Fortunately, I ripped out a recipe for Southwestern Stuffed Peppers from the February 2012 issue of Real Simple and…yum!

What a great combination of colors, flavors and foods.  I did sub in brown rice for white, but other than that, I was really excited by their recommendation.  I prepped everything in the morning while my girls were eating breakfast and then popped it in the over when we got back from the playground in the afternoon and it was done in time for dinner.  The best part?  LEFTOVERS!  Ok, I’m ready to leap with the rest of you.

I have to admit that my girls initally loved the strips of pepper more than the filling but I wasn’t suprised.  They love peppers as much as cupcakes.  But their curiosity got the best of them when the peppers were gone and they dove into the filling when the peppers were gone.

http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/stuffed-peppers-recipe-00100000074106/index.html

Leave a Reply

