mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Sarah’s “Kid Friendly” Crockpot Chicken Curry

on February 15, 2013

{Written by guest blogger, Sarah}

I’m in a cooking rut, which I think has something to do with my cabin fever.  I love winter during the holiday season, but after the last string of lights comes down I’m all about spring, baby.  It’s mid-February and I’m over the 25 minutes it takes me to bundle up the kids and get them out the door.  I’m over wiping up the puddles of melting snow dragged in from outside that pool on the kitchen floor.  I’m over soup and meat that has been braising for hours.  Actually, I take that back.  I’m not over them, just a little tired of them.  I’m ready for light dinners, grilling, warm weather, and dining al fresco.

My cooking rut probably also has something to do with the fact that if I’m not grocery shopping, cooking a meal, or cleaning up after a meal, then I’m most likely thinking about what our next meal will be.  Food is always on my brain, and sometimes my brain needs a break.  That’s also my excuse for watching such quality reality shows after I put the boys to bed at night.  Kids want pancakes for dinner tonight?  Sweet!  Mama didn’t feel like cooking a big meal anyway.  The Real Housewives of (insert any city here) is on TV tonight?  Double sweet!  As much as my brain would like to hibernate for the rest of the winter and not be bothered until the farmer’s markets open, my kids still need to eat.  I can still watch crappy reality TV on DVR though.

It’s necessary for me to have a few “old faithful” dishes to pull out when I’m in the middle of a cooking rut.  These are dishes that aren’t time consuming, don’t require a lot of ingredients, and everyone enjoys (minus one, of course).  My version of chicken curry fits the bill.  It’s a little more involved than making pancakes, but not much, so my brain still gets a catnap.  I usually make this dish on the stove, but one of my sons had a doctor appointment this afternoon (um, at 1:30 during prime nap time), so I decided to make it in the crockpot so that I wouldn’t have to worry about dinner after we got home.  I know a crockpot may not seem very gourmet, but I consider it a necessity when you have kids.  Some days are so jam packed with running errands, doctor appointments, school drop offs/pick ups, and me playing referee that I don’t have the time or the energy to spend an hour cooking dinner.  Plus, cooking anything in a crockpot makes your house smell amazing.  Hands-off cooking, the smell of curry when I open the door, and a meal everyone will happily devour?  That’s a win in my book.

Now I know this it not a traditional curry.  It’s a kid-friendly curry.  If I were making this dish for myself I would probably kick up the spice, but since I’m cooking for a 10 month old as well I cut back just a tad.  I have a feeling he would probably eat it even if I didn’t cut back on the spice though.  I once served him plain chicken and sweet potato and he looked at me like I was crazy.  “You expect me to eat THAT?” My baby is the opposite of Silas in terms of his eating habits, although we all know that could change tomorrow.  I’m enjoying it in the meantime…

Screen Shot 2013-02-15 at 9.42.58 AM

Here is what you will need:

Screen Shot 2013-02-15 at 9.42.51 AM

  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 sweet potato, diced
  • 1 lb. chicken, cubed
  • 26 oz. chopped tomatoes
  • 14 oz. coconut milk
  • 1 to 2 T curry powder, depending on your family’s taste and your curry powder
  • Pinch cinnamon
  • ½ cup frozen sweet peas
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • Greek yogurt for topping

Combine everything in the crockpot and cook on low heat for 6 hours.  Add frozen peas to crockpot a few minutes before serving.  Serve over rice, quinoa, cous cous, etc.  Top with greek yogurt, which helps cool it down a bit in the event you add a tad too much curry powder.  Not that I’ve ever done that or anything.

Screen Shot 2013-02-15 at 9.42.31 AM

How about you?  What are some of your “old faithful” dishes?  Any suggestions that will help drag me out of my winter cooking rut?

Leave a Reply

