mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Make Burritos With Your Kids This Weekend!

on February 22, 2013

{By Guest Blogger, Sarah}

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 10.53.28 AM

Before my husband and I had children and before we made the move from Brooklyn to the suburbs, Sundays were about brunching, nursing a headache from that extra cocktail the night before, reading the newspaper, napping, and doing whatever the heck we wanted to do.  Oh, the lives of twenty-somethings.  Now we are well into our thirties, and these days Sundays are about pancake breakfasts, wiping snotty noses, changing dirty diapers, and trying to finish a cup of coffee before it gets cold.  I can microwave a cup of coffee at least three times before finishing it because kids have the strange ability to distract you from things.  Important things like caffeine.  The nerve!

By the time Sunday comes around I am just plain tired from the week.  “How could a stay-at-home mom be tired?” you ask.  Taking care of kids full-time is more mentally exhausting (remember my whole brain needs a break thing last week?) than physically exhausting.  I can run laps around the block with the kids, I can do pull-ups on the monkey bars, and I can practice yoga poses along side them, but the mental exhaustion? WHOA.  By the time Sunday comes around I have explained to my oldest son that 15 is FIFteen, not FIVEteen (I know, Jackson, it would make more sense if it was, but…) approximately 202 times, I have sung my kids’ favorite songs approximately 357 times, I have broken up 439 fights, I have explained the importance of sharing approximately 9,523 times, and I have said “no” approximately 5,895, 201 times.  TIRED.  I’m constantly, teaching, playing, singing, dancing, picking up, cooking, changing diapers, and the 2,689,214 other things moms do, so it’s easy to get caught up in the monotony of daily life and forget about the fun.  KIDS ARE FUN!  That’s why we have them, right?  The weekend is when I get to have more fun with the kids because my husband is home more, so a fun activity is in order to snap me back into the joys of parenting.

Enter the burrito.  We need to eat dinner, obviously, so what’s more fun than recruiting the kids to help make burritos?  I’ll tell you what – eating said burritos.  I could eat a burrito for breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day for the rest of my life and be perfectly happy, although my waistline would beg to differ.  By making burritos at home I’m able to control what goes in them, so the kids and I can create healthier versions of take-out burritos that are loaded with cheese, sour cream, and that are the size of your forearm.  Plus, the kids love to help in the kitchen and it gets them excited about eating what they created.  Fun!

Am I the only one that finds food-themed nights fun?  I also find organizing to be fun, so maybe we shouldn’t party together.  Although we may not agree on what’s fun, I bet we will agree on how yummy these burritos are.  I bet your kids will too.

Here is what you will need:

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 10.52.27 AM

  • 2 cans of beans (I like to use 1 can of black beans and 1 can of pink beans)
  • 1 cup of water
  • Brown rice
  • I bag of frozen sweet corn
  • I can of tomatoes (mine are a Mexican version with cilantro and lime)
  • Tomato paste
  • 1 tsp. Cumin (not pictured above)
  • Onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • Jalapeno (ribs and seeds removed), chopped
  • Bunch of scallions (white and light green parts)
  • Greek yogurt
  • Limes
  • Cheese (I like to use Monterey Jack)
  • Tortillas (not pictured above)
  • Salsa and avocado for serving

Note:  I mentioned before that my family likes spice.  If yours does not, simply omit the jalapeno and use plain tomatoes.  Moving on…

First things first.  Make your rice and rinse your beans.

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 10.52.35 AM

Next, sauté the onion, garlic, and jalapeno until soft.

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 10.52.46 AM

Add cumin and a few squirts of tomato paste and sauté until fragrant.

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 10.52.54 AM

Add tomatoes and scrape up any bits on the bottom of the pan.  Next, add your beans and water.  It will look a little runny at this point, but it will thicken up as it simmers for 5 to 10 minutes.

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 10.53.01 AM

Add the corn and scallions.  See, nice and thick.

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 10.53.08 AM

Time to make the yogurt sauce.  Add the juice of 2 limes to a few spoonfuls of yogurt.  Add salt to taste.

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 10.53.15 AM

Do yourself a favor and shred your own cheese.  It’s really easy to do in the food processor if you don’t feel like doing it by hand.

Next, set up your assembly line and enlist the help of your burrito builders.

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 10.53.28 AM

Build your burritos!  Layer rice, filling, and cheese on a tortilla and top with a drizzle of the yogurt lime sauce.

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 10.53.35 AM

Now roll!  Look at those little hands…  Fun!

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 10.53.41 AM

This recipe made 10 burritos with a little rice and filling leftover.  These freeze really well, so wrap the uneaten burritos individually and put them in the freezer.  They can be reheated in the oven at 450 degrees for about 15 minutes.

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 10.53.50 AM

Best part?  Serve with some salsa and avocado.  EAT!

Screen Shot 2013-02-22 at 10.53.58 AM

4 responses to “Make Burritos With Your Kids This Weekend!

  1. Emily loftis says:

    These look great!

  2. Jen says:

    So cute how the kids are so focused! Thanks for sharing, I’ll plan to make and freeze some next time.

  3. […] mentioned before that I love anything having to do with tacos and burritos.  In fact, I think I could eat them every night for dinner.  This rainy, dreary day needed some […]

Leave a Reply

