mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Quinoa Patties With Dipping Sauce, YUM!

on February 27, 2013

{Written by Sarah}

Screen Shot 2013-02-27 at 10.20.56 AM

We are creatures of habit.  Everyday we wake up at the same time (or earlier if a certain someone climbs into our bed at 5:00AM), take a shower (or not), brush our teeth (always!), change diapers, get the kids dressed, make breakfast, drink coffee, drop the kids off at school, have lunch, take naps, make dinner, take baths, read books, go to bed.  I could probably do this stuff with my eyes closed by now.  In fact, most mornings I do.  As mundane as this daily routine might sound, the kids need it.  Try to remove just one piece of that puzzle and catastrophe may ensue.

Sure, my kids can deal with eating meals at different times of the day if need be and they put up with me dragging them to Target and the grocery store, but there is a laundry list of constants in their lives that they simply won’t budge on.  Certain things just need to be done a certain way or else they feel like their little worlds are crumbling.  To name a few, they each have to take their own placemat out of the drawer for meals.  It’s not acceptable for one to touch the other’s placemat.  No way.  They have to have their “loveys” in certain spots on their beds when they sleep.  They have to sit in certain spots on the couch, but I haven’t gone so far as to draw territory lines on the furniture.  YET.  They can’t, and I repeat CAN’T, skip naps.  They have in the past, and it’s not a good thing.  Meltdown city to the point of me expecting to see their heads spin and pea soup shoot out of their mouths.  They have to put their own socks and shoes on before we walk out of the house.  If I try to help I’ve most likely added another 15 minutes onto our estimated time of departure.  They eat the same thing for lunch everyday – avocado, pita, yogurt, and fruit.  This is obviously partly (or all?) my fault, but they love it.  As I’ve mentioned before, lunch is one of the only meals my middle son will eat, so why mess with a good thing?

We can go through two avocados a day because my kids love them so much.  I can’t be too upset over this because avocados have numerous health benefits, but let’s face it – they don’t grow on trees.  Well, they actually do, but not on a tree in our backyard.  Instead, we pay out the nose for them at the grocery store.  So I decided I’m going to try to mix up the lunch routine a little bit (if you could see me grimace as I typed that sentence) in an attempt to save a few bucks at the grocery store and to add some variety to our lives.  Nothing crazy, and I’ll probably still give them a little bit of avocado, but our avocado consumption is starting to get a little out of hand.  So kids, let me re-introduce you to quinoa patties.  Remember them?  You’ve had them for dinner before.  Fluffy, nutty quinoa with shredded vegetables and parmesan cheese formed into patties and pan fried until golden brown.  Sound good?  Mama thinks so.  So what do you say?  Let’s give our old pal the avocado a break, at least for the day, and think outside the box when it comes to lunch.

Here’s what you’ll need:

Screen Shot 2013-02-27 at 10.19.59 AM

  • 2 cups cooked quinoa
  • 1 carrot, shredded
  • 1 red pepper, shredded
  • 1 shallot, shredded or very finely chopped
  • Handful of spinach, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • ½ cup breadcrumbs (preferably whole grain)
  • ¼ cup parmesan cheese, shredded (again, please shred your own!)
  • Coconut or olive oil for pan-frying

For dipping sauce:

  • ½ cup greek yogurt
  • 3 T basil & oregano rice vinegar (or any other vinegar you like)
  • Pinch flat leaf parsley, chopped
  • Salt & pepper to taste

I prefer to shred my vegetables because I think it helps the patties stay together.  I think diced vegetables would be too large and would just fall out.  You can try either way though.

Shred your vegetables and sauté in some coconut oil for just a few minutes.  You just want to take the edge off the shallot and garlic and soften the carrots and pepper a bit.

Next, add the spinach and sauté for a minute or two until it begins to soften.

Screen Shot 2013-02-27 at 10.20.07 AM

Let the mixture cool, and add to quinoa along with the parmesan cheese and eggs.  Stir to combine, and add breadcrumbs.

You are ready to form your patties.  I used a cookie scoop to measure each patty.  Now this will seem almost like an impossible task when you start because the quinoa will want to stick to nothing but your hands.  My tip of the day: run your hands under the faucet in between each patty and you will have no problem forming them because the quinoa won’t stick.  Problem solved!

Screen Shot 2013-02-27 at 10.20.15 AMScreen Shot 2013-02-27 at 10.20.22 AM

I like to refrigerate them for a few minutes at this point to ensure that they stay together.  Go have a snack, watch some TV, or even clean up the mess you just made in the kitchen.  Or you could make a dipping sauce…

Whisk together yogurt, rice vinegar, and parsley.  Add salt & pepper to taste.

Screen Shot 2013-02-27 at 10.20.30 AM

Side note:  If you haven’t tried seasoned rice vinegar, you are truly missing out.  It’s by far my favorite kind of vinegar.  There are so many different flavors to choose from as well.  Pick some up on your next shopping trip.

After your patties have chilled out in the refrigerator a bit, you are ready to pan-fry your patties.  I had to do mine in two batches.  Heat some coconut oil in a pan, add patties, and fry on each side for 4 to 5 minutes or until golden brown.

Screen Shot 2013-02-27 at 10.20.38 AM

Serve with dipping sauce.

These patties are the perfect size for little hands to dip.  They are crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.  So good, in fact, I would even serve them as finger food if I were entertaining (like I ever do that, but…)

2 responses to “Quinoa Patties With Dipping Sauce, YUM!

  1. eatwellchef says:

    This looks delicious. I recently read “Wheat Belly,” and I’m incorporating gluten-free into all my recipes. So I would make this either without the bread crumbs, or I’d just make sure I was using wheat and gluten-free ones.

    Keep up the good work. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

