mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

My Dad’s Beef Stew Recipe Gets Me Every Time

on February 28, 2013

My dad didn’t cook often when I was growing up, mostly because of his crazy work schedule.  But when he did cook, it was always with love.  There are a couple of things he still makes today and we all eat them up with glee when he does.  Of course, getting him to write down what he does is another story…

Thankfully, I put in a request for a few treasured recipes and am lately making his beef stew on repeat.  It’s probably the cold weather.  I love a good soup in the winter.  But the last two times I’ve made this it just hit the spot.  And the fact that my daughters gobbled it up as I was?  Well, that’s reason enough to make an extra batch for the freezer (like I did this week!)

dad miller beef stew recipe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The funny thing about this recipe is how ridiculously easy it is to pull together.  The “hardest” part is coating the beef pieces in flour and browning them in olive oil for a few minutes.  Talk about not needing lessons from Le Cordon Bleu!

Here’s what you’ll need:

Extra virgin olive oil

Whole wheat flour – enough to cover beef cubes

1-2 bags of mixed frozen vegetables

1 pound of beef stew cubes

1 large can of crushed tomatoes

1 T salt

1 T pepper

1 T basil

1 tsp parsley

1 tsp sage

1 tsp thyme

32 oz low sodium beef broth

Pour olive oil in the bottom of a large pot.  Enough to cover.  In a bowl or bag, place 1/2 to 1C of whole wheat flour and combine with beef cubes, lightly covering each piece.  Add this to olive oil, add all spices and brown meat.

Pour beef  broth into pot, add vegetables and crushed tomato.

Bring to a boil and let sit on low flame for several hours.  Before I give it to my daughters, I cut up the beef into tiny pieces, but leave the rest for my husband and I to enjoy.  Delish!

dad miller beef stew pic

One response to “My Dad’s Beef Stew Recipe Gets Me Every Time

  1. […] Dad’s Beef Stew as an alternative 3. Pork Chops/Pork Loin with […]

Leave a Reply

