mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

“The more you read, the more you will know; the more that you learn, the more places you will go” – Dr. Seuss

on March 1, 2013

Screen Shot 2013-03-01 at 10.30.43 AMLike most parents, I have read all the studies that show how critical it is to read to your kids everyday, as many books as possible.  Now, before I had kids, I pictured Saturday afternoons, sitting on the couch reading story after story, following by an alphabet lesson, some art and a calm, peaceful dinner.  Fast forward three years, and the reality is that we can really only read two times per day: when they are eating lunch (ie, strapped to their booster seats) or at bedtime (exhaustion has set in — for ALL of us).  Any other time will result in knock out fights over who holds the book, a reenactment of every scene or a mid-story ballet recital in full costume.  There are many, many nights where I am tempted to pick the smallest book, you know, the one from when they were babies, that have one word per page, read it in 30 seconds and lights out.  But then, the mommy guilt sets in and I remind myself that one day I will long for these moments again.  (The days are looong, but the years are short)  So I push myself to keep going for another 30-40 minutes, and we read, and read, and read.  Some of these moments with my kids are my absolute favorite.  They sit on lap, they are engaged and we all escape into another world for a few moments.

Today is Read Across America Week, a day dedicated to encourage reading and the love of literature through school and community events.  Now in it’s 16th year, the date coincides with Dr. Seuss’s Birthday (March 2, 1904) and the National Education Association has great ideas for encouraging reading, including this great poem..  Part of the joy of reading is discovering great new stories, here are some of the books that my kids love and
ask to read over and over again:

1. My Mommy Hung The Moon

2. The I Love You Book

3. Wherever You Are My Love Will Find You

4. One

5. The Story of Ferdinand 

What are some of your favorites?

Leave a Reply

