mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Southwest Sweet Potato, Black Bean & Bulgur Burgers

on March 19, 2013

I rarely sit down and enjoy lunch unless I wait to eat until my boys are napping because I’m usually busy making my rounds from the high chair (cutting up food for my 1 year old), to the fridge (getting more grapes for someone), and then to the floor (cleaning up spilled milk or food).  If I do lunch with them I am eating while standing, and my “meal” usually consists of nibbles or this or that, leftovers from the night before, a piece of cheese, or the food my kids left on their plates.  The past few days, however, my kids have been sick with a stomach bug and not up for eating, so I decided to make myself a real grown up lunch that I could enjoy while sitting down.  Lunch took a little longer for me to prepare and dirtied a lot more dishes than usual, but it was totally worth it!  I savored every last bite of my big girl lunch knowing that tomorrow (hopefully) my boys will feel better and I will be back on waitress duty during lunchtime.

Southwest Sweet Potato, Black Bean & Bulgur Burgers with Avocado Corn Salad

Image

Makes 4 large burgers

  • 2 roasted sweet potatoes
  • 1 can black beans
  • ½ cup cooked bulgur
  • ½ cup red onion (diced)
  • 2 garlic gloves (minced)
  • 1 t chili powder
  • 1/8 t cumin
  • 1/8 t coriander
  • 1 T molasses
  • ½ t chipotle sauce, plus extra to drizzle

Roughly mash sweet potatoes and black beans.  Add all other ingredients and stir to combine.  With wet hands, form mixture into patties, then let them chill in the refrigerator (for as long as possible).

Image

Disclosure: I’m going to be totally honest with you here.  This part is not that fun.  These are made out of sweet potatoes, so they are soft and will want to fall apart (obviously).  You have to babysit them a bit while they are in the pan, reshaping them with a spatula from time to time.  Now that I got that out of the way…

Heat some coconut (or olive) oil in a pan and cook patties for about 5 minutes on each side.  Remember my note above?  Flipping can be a little tricky too (just keep reshaping them if they fall apart a bit).  I then like to stick them under the broiler for another 5 minutes per side to get them a little crispy.

To make the avocado corn salad:

Are you ready for this?  Avocado + corn + lime juice + salt = AVOCADO CORN SALAD

Top each burger with some of the salad, a dollop of greek yogurt, and a drizzle of chipotle sauce.  Delicious!

Image

3 responses to “Southwest Sweet Potato, Black Bean & Bulgur Burgers

  1. […] Southwest Sweet Potato, Black Bean, and Bulgur Burgers (mysuperfoods.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Alison says:

    These look so delicious! I hope you don’t mind if I link to the recipe from my blog.

Leave a Reply

