mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Banana Pear Muffins

on April 5, 2013

I’m not a morning person (my husband will confirm this).  I could use an hour or two of quiet time after waking up to ease into the groove of the day.  My kids, on the other hand, shoot out of bed like firecrackers the second they open an eye and starting running, playing, yelling, laughing, and fighting with each other.  I usually lay in bed for a minute thinking about the diapers and clothes that will need to be changed and the breakfast that will need to be made and think to myself “is it bedtime yet?”  The thought of coffee eventually drags me out of bed and leads me downstairs to the chaos of the kitchen and demands for milk and food.

Breakfast is one of my favorite meals of the day despite the fact that I’m not a morning person.  I usually go the savory route with eggs.  I don’t love sweet breakfasts (there are exceptions, of course) because I don’t feel satisfied afterwards.  From all the delicious breakfast options out there, what do my kids usually choose?  TOAST!  Such an exciting breakfast, huh?  Toast with fruit and yogurt is usually on the menu for them.  My youngest and middle sons like oatmeal, but I don’t always have time to make it because it seems like we’re always rushing to get out the door in the morning.

To break up the monotony of toast and still provide a speedy, healthy breakfast option I’ll often make something early in the week for them to eat for breakfast for a few days.  Something like MUFFINS!  Who doesn’t love muffins?  Especially these muffins.  They pack a double punch – they are relatively healthy because they aren’t loaded with tons of sugar or butter AND they are so, so tasty.  I’m not a huge baker, but after many trial and error batches and pulling ideas from multiple muffin recipes, these muffins have made me somewhat of a rock star around my house.  They are super moist and continue to get better the second day.  I would say they are good on the third day, but a batch never lasts that long in my house.  My kids gobble them up quickly, which is always a plus in my book considering my oldest son can nibble on a single piece of toast until lunchtime.

What’s even better about these muffins is that this recipe is more of a “base” recipe.  You can make whatever version you would like by switching up the spices and substituting the 1 cup of fruit with another ingredient.  Don’t feel like making banana pear muffins?  How about pumpkin, or pumpkin banana, or blueberry, or… the options are endless.  I’ve tried all that I mentioned and they’re all delicious, but this version seems to be my family’s favorite.

BANANA PEAR MUFFINS

Makes about 24 mini muffins

  • 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour (or 1 cup all purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour)*
  • ½ cup agave (or light brown sugar)
  • 1 ½ t baking soda
  • ½ t salt
  • ½ t ground ginger
  • ½ t cinnamon
  • 1 c mashed banana & pear
  • ½ c applesauce
  • ½ cup coconut oil (heat to liquefy)
  • 1 T vanilla

Whisk dry ingredients together.  Whisk wet ingredients together.  Add wet to dry and mix together.

Image

Use a small cookie scoop to drop batter into mini muffin pan.

Image

Bake at 325 degrees for 15 minutes, rotating halfway through baking.  Remove muffins from pan immediately and allow to cool on rack.

Image

*NOTE:  The 2 cups whole wheat flour version seems to taste a little “too healthy” for my husband.  The muffins are certainly a little moister when you use 1 cup all purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour.  My kids love either version.

2 responses to “Banana Pear Muffins

  1. […] a hankering for strawberry banana SOMETHING. I decided to put another spin on my old trustworthy banana muffins by adding pureed strawberries and some oats. They turned out to be another winner. We’ll see how […]

Leave a Reply

