mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Blueberry Lemon Yogurt Pops

on April 18, 2013

Yesterday we walked around the zoo for three hours soaking up the warm sunshine and taking in the sites. We were all tuckered out and overheated (we didn’t exactly dress appropriately for the warm day), and my boys passed out in the van before we pulled out of the parking lot. I realized that popsicles would have been the perfect ending to our fun-filled Spring day, but too bad I didn’t think of that on Tuesday so that they would have been ready to eat on Wednesday. Way to plan ahead, Mom!

I decided to make the frozen treats for my exhausted boys anyway after we got home with the promise that they could enjoy them after school today. I mean, we all know that kids would eat a popsicle on a 25 degree snowy day in January if given the chance, so something tells me they won’t mind enjoying them today instead of yesterday.  

BLUEBERRY LEMON YOGURT POPS

These are possibly the easiest popsicles in the world to make. All you need is 4 ingredients:

  • Plain Greek Yogurt (I used a 17.6 oz container of Fage)
  • Blueberries (I used a 12 oz bag of frozen organic blueberries because I didn’t want to use up all my freshies)
  • 1 Lemon
  • Honey

Heat your blueberries and the juice of the lemon (I added some zest too) in a pot and cook on low until the blueberries begin to burst. Add blueberry sauce to yogurt and whisk together. Add honey to taste. Easy peasy.

Fill popsicle molds with mixture, insert popsicle sticks, and freeze overnight.

Image

Image

When you are ready to eat your popsicles, run them under warm water for a few seconds to help release them from the mold.

Enjoy! Preferably outside on a very warm, sunny day…

Image

Leave a Reply

