mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Holy Guacamole! & Skirt Steak Tacos

on April 21, 2013

My kids are obsessed with all things Yo Gabba Gabba, and I have to admit that I kind of am too. At first I thought the show was a little strange (I mean, what are those characters supposed to be anyway???), but after we watched a few episodes I was hooked we were hooked. The songs are super catchy, REAL bands perform on the show, and there are some great lessons to be learned (don’t be afraid, all our friends are different but we love them all the same, share with your friends, try it you’ll like it, and many more). We even took the kids to see them in concert this past December, which was AWESOME!

One of my family’s favorite songs from the show is “Pool Party” by the Aquabats, and our favorite line from the song is “Holy guacamole, we’ve got chips!” (quite fitting considering how much my kids love avocado). So every time I make guacamole, this song runs through my head on repeat. And now you can thank me for that line running through YOUR head as well. You’re welcome!

I always have a bowl full of avocados in my house, and unfortunately they all seemed to ripen at the same time the other day. My kids don’t need avocados to be doctored up in any way to eat them, but they won’t eat them if there is any brown on them whatsoever. So in order to salvage all those avocados I decided to make some (holy!) guacamole. Perfect with tortilla chips or served on top of the BEST skirt steak tacos. EVER.  

HOLY GUACAMOLE

  • 4 avocados
  • 2 limes
  • 3 to 4 garlic cloves, chopped very fine or pressed
  • ½ jalapeno, seeds removed and chopped
  • About ¼ cup red onion
  • salt

Halve your avocados.

Image

Now, remove the pits. The easiest way to do this is to give it a whack with your knife (while holding the avocado with your opposite hand. I obviously couldn’t hold the avocado, whack it, and take a picture at the same time).

Image

Now twist your knife, and voila!

Image

Scoop out the creamy insides of the avocados and add to a bowl with the juice of 2 limes, jalapeno, garlic, and red onion. Mash everything with a potato masher or fork, leaving it a little chunky. Add salt to taste.

Image

If I were making this guacamole for just myself, I would add the other half of the jalapeno and some chopped cilantro, but since SOMEONE in our house doesn’t like cilantro I’ll just add it to my portion later. You could also go a little crazy and add some cumin, cayenne, chopped tomatoes, or even black beans if you would like. We like our guacamole straight up. Not fuss, no muss.

This is the best part. You have to taste it to make sure it doesn’t need a little tweaking. You might even need to take a second, third, or fourth bite to be sure.

Image

Cover and refrigerate. Try not to eat the entire bowl before dinnertime. Good luck!

SKIRT STEAK TACOS

  • 1 to 1 ½ lbs. skirt steak
  • 2 limes
  • 4 garlic cloves, roughly chopped
  • 1 T cumin (I eyeball this, but it looks to be about 1 T)
  • 1 T coriander (again, I always eyeball, so…)
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • olive oil (however much you need to turn everything into a sort of paste)
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 bunch of scallions
  • tortillas
  • guacamole, salsa, cilantro or whatever fixings you like

I cut my skirt steak in half since they are usually pretty long. Add the steak to a Ziploc bag with the juice of 2 limes (I just throw the limes in the bag after I’ve juiced them), garlic, cumin, coriander, cayenne pepper, salt & pepper, and olive oil. Roll the bag around to coat the steak in the paste and refrigerate for a few hours.

Before you’re ready to grill, take your steak out of the refrigerator and let it come to room temperature. Skirt steak cooks very quickly, so you only need to grill it for about 3 to 5 minutes on each side (I cook one piece a little longer for the kids). When finished grilling, tent your steak with foil and let it rest while you grill the scallions and tortillas.

Image

Toss the scallions with a bit of olive oil and grill until they become blackened in some spots and soften up.

Image

Grill the tortillas for just a few seconds on each side (this really makes such a difference and picks up some of the yummy flavor from the grill).

Image

Now you’re ready to cut your steak. When you’re done, squeeze some more lime juice over the meat.

Image

Time to build your tacos! A little schmear of sour cream, some steak, grilled scallions, a dollop of guacamole, and some chopped tomatoes is how I like mine. I could eat this every day…

Image

Image

 

2 responses to “Holy Guacamole! & Skirt Steak Tacos

  1. […] mentioned before that I love anything having to do with tacos and burritos.  In fact, I think I could eat them every night for dinner.  This rainy, dreary day […]

  2. […] Holy Guacamole and Skirt Steak Tacos – Guacamole is such a kid-friendly staple that I sometimes have to make a “spicy” version to ensure that my husband and I get some of our own.  Steak tacos are a great, make-it-yourself option for a party setting as well.  Let the kids get involved with making their own dinner. […]

Leave a Reply

