mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Challenge Meal #1 – Roasted Salmon with Lime Butter & Corn Salad

on April 23, 2013

Thank goodness the shopping part of my challenge is over. The stress of watching the total go up, up, and up on the computer screen at Whole Foods with the beep of each item passing over the scanner was almost too much for me to handle. Now for the fun part – cooking!  

I decided to make Meal #1 because I’ve been craving light, springy meals recently, and salmon is a nice change from our usual chicken. It doesn’t need a lot of doctoring up either, which meant fewer ingredients for me to purchase. Oh, and it’s pretty good for you too. And the corn salad is to die for. Seriously. It’s what my husband loves most about summer. I usually make it with fresh corn, but frozen works too when you’re craving this salad in cooler months. Please try it. You won’t be sorry.

Overall, this meal cost me about $16. Not bad, especially since the corn salad will last a few days, and I can use the leftover salmon, tomatoes, cucumber, and feta for salad nicoise for lunch. One meal down, four more to go…

ROASTED SALMON WITH LIME BUTTER & CORN SALAD

(I’ve noted my freebie ingredients below)

Corn Salad:

  • 6 to 8 ears of corn or 2 lbs frozen sweet corn
  • 1 cucumber, diced
  • 1 cubanelle pepper, diced
  • 1 pint of cherry tomatoes, cut in half
  • 1 bunch of scallions, chopped
  • ½ cup apple cider vinegar – FREEBIE
  • ¼ cup olive oil – FREEBIE
  • 1 T agave – FREEBIE
  • Feta cheese – FREEBIE
  • Salt – FREEBIE

Again, I ‘m kind of horrible at sharing recipes because I don’t really measure anything unless I’m baking. Eyeballing it, I would say I use about ½ cup each of the cucumber, pepper, tomatoes, and scallions. You can add as much or as little of each ingredient as you would like.

Combine the corn, cucumber, pepper, tomatoes, and scallions in a bowl. Add vinegar, olive oil, and agave and toss. Add salt to taste. Refrigerate until ready to eat, and add feta before serving.

Image

Roasted Salmon with Lime Butter:

  • 1 to 2 T butter – FREEBIE
  • Zest of 1 lime
  • 2 to 3 pieces of salmon
  • Olive oil – FREEBIE
  • Salt & pepper – FREEBIE

Preheat your oven to 475 degrees.

Make your lime butter by letting butter soften just a tad. Add lime zest and a very tiny pinch of salt to butter and mash with a fork, and then put it back in the refrigerator until your salmon is done.

Image

Drizzle olive oil on a small sheet pan and put it in the oven for a few minutes to create a non-stick surface on your pan. Season your salmon with salt and pepper and place it on the pan (SIZZLE!) and roast in the oven for about 10 minutes. Check at this point to see if it needs a few more minutes of roasting time. You’ll know it’s done when it flakes and the center is just slightly pink. Let the salmon rest for a few minutes, topping each piece with a small dollop of the lime butter which will melt over the fish. Serve with corn salad.

I’m not sure that $16 would even feed a family of 5 at McDonald’s, and look at this beautiful, healthy, and delicious meal I made for just that amount. I don’t ever want to hear the excuse that cooking with fresh ingredients and creating a meal from scratch is too expensive from anyone ever again!

Image

6 responses to “Challenge Meal #1 – Roasted Salmon with Lime Butter & Corn Salad

  1. Colleen says:

    I have a favorite similar dish using tilapia and a lime chili powder mayo spread with fresh corn on top. You cook it under the. Roller and when the corn is roasted and brown the fish is done. Street vendor corn and fresh fish? Yes please! Throw the leftovers on corn tortillas the next day? Even better!

  2. MOGKMOGK says:

    looks amazing!!!!!!!!!

  3. […] Challenge Meal #1 and Meal #2 were good, but Meal #3 has been my favorite so far. It’s so simple (you’re really […]

  4. […] the lime butter I made for Meal #1?  Well, I made some extra so that I could use it tonight.  You could always just add some lime […]

Leave a Reply

