mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Challenge Meal #5 – White Pizza with Arugula

on April 28, 2013

After cooking with only the ingredients I purchased on my shopping trip this week (minus a few exceptions, of course), I’ve realized how much I usually rely on my pantry.  There were many times I thought something from my pantry or freezer (like artichoke hearts or black beans) would’ve been a nice addition to a dish, but I had to follow the rules.  I really think the secret to making cost effective, creative meals is making (and sticking to) a meal plan and keeping a well-stocked pantry.  Shop for big-ticket items like meat and cheese and keep quick additions like beans, frozen spinach, and grains on hand at all times.

After a long week of cooking I decided to take it easy for my last meal by making pizza.  My oldest son helped out too, which was fun.  We made white pizza, but for all I know our white pizza was lacking some key ingredient that traditional white pizzas use.  We didn’t use sauce, so that’s means it’s white pizza, right?  Makes sense to me!

This meal was the cheapest by far, especially since I already had all the cheese in my refrigerator.  The dough, arugula, and lemon for the salad cost around $5.  Can’t beat that!   

WHITE PIZZA WITH ARUGULA

  • Frozen pizza dough (or use fresh if you like to make your own)
  • 8 oz. mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Ricotta cheese
  • Red pepper flakes
  • Arugula
  • Lemon
  • Olive Oil

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees and shred your cheese.

Image

I could have made my own pizza dough, but I really like this dough from Whole Foods.  And I was taking it easy in the kitchen tonight, remember?

Image

Shape your pizza dough and place on cookie sheet or pizza stone.  I don’t have a pizza stone, but a parchment lined cookie sheet works just fine for me.

Image

Drizzle a little bit of olive oil over the dough.  A garlic or red pepper infused olive oil would be great here, but again, I didn’t feel like infusing any oil.

Poke holes in the dough with a fork so it doesn’t puff up.

Image

Sprinkle mozzarella and desired amount of parmesan (I only used a little bit) over the dough and top with a few dollops of ricotta.   My son said they looked like snowballs, and I happen to agree.

Image

Sprinkle a pinch of crushed rep pepper flakes on the pizza and bake for about 12 minutes until the crust is brown and crispy and the cheese is bubbly.

Image

Make a simple arugula salad by adding arugula, the juice of 1 lemon, a drizzle of olive oil, and salt and pepper to a bowl and toss.

Image

Now that your pizza has had a chance to cool for a minute or two, slice it up and serve.

Image

I like to eat mine with the arugula salad on top of my pizza.  Delicious!

Image

Thanks for following along throughout this challenge.  I hope I’ve inspired you to make some delicious meals and save some money at the grocery store!

One response to “Challenge Meal #5 – White Pizza with Arugula

  1. […] White Pizza With Arugula – Put a fun twist on a standard pizza with this white pizza recipe.  Every party deserves a little something unexpected. […]

Leave a Reply

