mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Simple Tomato Sauce

on May 1, 2013

I’ve mentioned that we’re moving in two weeks, which means that a good portion of my kitchen is packed away in boxes. I hate waiting until the last minute to do things, so I’m getting as much done as I can now. The only problem with me NOT procrastinating is that I’m finding I should’ve left some things in my cabinets for a few more days. Like last week I wanted to make some banana strawberry bread, so I started rounding up my ingredients only to find I had packed away my baking pans. Bummer.

Since I’ve packed everything but the kitchen sink, I’ll be cooking some pretty simple dishes over the next two weeks. Tonight’s pasta sauce is in heavy rotation in our house because it’s super easy to make (put three ingredients in a pot and let it simmer) and the leftovers can then be used for pizza or frozen for a later date.

I saw the recipe for this sauce a few years ago (apparently I was late to the game) and was skeptical that it could be so good. Pasta sauce without any garlic? What??? Well, it is that good. And you most likely have all the ingredients just sitting around your pantry/refrigerator. Give it a whirl when a quick and easy dinner is in order. Your family will thank you for cooking something other than chicken nuggets on a hectic night.

TOMATO SAUCE WITH BUTTER AND ONIONS

(Courtesy of smittenkitchen.com)

  • 28 ounces whole peeled tomatoes from a can (I usually use whatever I have on hand. Crushed tomatoes make the whole process even easier.)
  • 5 T unsalted butter (I use 4 T – I try to cut back a little bit) *
  • 1 medium-sized yellow onion, peeled and halved
  • Salt to taste

Image

Image

Put the tomatoes, onion, and butter in a pot. I like to cut my butter to give it a head start.

Image

Simmer the sauce uncovered for about 45 minutes, crushing the tomatoes (if you’re using whole tomatoes – see why I said using crushed tomatoes is even easier?) against the side of the pot with a spoon. You don’t have to babysit the sauce, just check on it once in awhile to make sure it’s not bubbling over or splattering all over your backsplash.

Image

Discard the onion and add salt to taste. I like to puree the sauce using an immersion blender. You don’t have to do this step; it’s just my preference.

Image

Add sauce to cooked pasta and toss to coat. I used leftover organic trottole (I’m trying to clean out the pantry as well) and served it with steamed broccolini on the side.

Mangia!

Image

* I know it seems like a lot of butter, but I only use about half the sauce for ½ pound of pasta, which is usually plenty for us.

Leave a Reply

