mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

6 Daily Tasks to Keep Your Home Tidy

on May 2, 2013

Image

Spring cleaning can seem like an overwhelming task and may even make you wish for a few more weeks of winter. I happen to be a bit of a neat/clean/organization freak, so I find spring cleaning very enjoyable. I’m ready to tackle cleaning out and organizing the garage before the tulips bloom and the buds appear on the trees.

If you don’t love big cleaning and organizing projects as much as I do, Martha Stewart (who else?) has come up with a list of 6 tasks you can do on a daily basis to keep your home tidy.

1. Make the Bed

If I don’t do this as soon as I wake up I never will, and then my whole day will be thrown off. I think it’s a nice way to set the tone for the day, and it really only takes about 10 minutes to make and tidy up four beds. Sometimes the kids even try to help, in which case the whole process may take up to 20 minutes. Everything is neat and orderly at 7:00AM. If only I could say the same at 3:30PM.

2. Manage Clutter

My worst enemy! Clutter in my home makes ME feel cluttered. I believe in “less is more” and am constantly finding homes for things, organizing, throwing things away, or donating them. It really only takes a few minutes here and there throughout the day to clean off your desk, put toys away, or take out the recycling that’s been sitting on the counter. Clutter can feel very overwhelming if you let it pile up, so managing it on a daily basis makes it less of a chore and more a part of your daily routine. Clear your home, clear your mind!

3. Sort the Mail

We are lucky enough to have an area off our kitchen that we use for a home office. This is where we keep our computer, chargers, pens, paper, kids’ art supplies, keys, and mail (in other words, the area of our house that is prone to clutter). Sorting mail these days really isn’t that difficult because we only get catalogues, junk, and bills. I immediately get rid of the junk and put the bills in the “to do” pile in the office so they don’t get lost.

(I think #3 is part of #2, so I’ve just decreased your number of daily chores to 5!)

4. Clean as You Cook

Ding, ding, ding!!!!! I agree 100%. There is nothing worse than spending an hour cleaning up the kitchen after you’ve cooked a big meal. I’ll rinse dishes or load/unload the dishwasher (when we have a working dishwasher, that is) while something is simmering on the stove to cut down on clean up time after dinner.

5. Wipe Up Spills While They’re Fresh

(Again, I happen to think #4 and #5 could be lumped together into 1 task, so now you’re down to only 4!)

A little elbow grease is involved when cleaning up a spill after it’s dried, so why not make your life easier and do it right away? There are obviously many spills involved in the transition from sippy cup to big boy cup, and I’ve cleaned up my fair share of sticky milk off the floor. I’m always amazed by how much surface area a little cup of milk can cover. Cabinets, refrigerator, 8 feet away in the foyer…

6. Sweep the Kitchen Floor

This is my kids’ favorite chore (I’ll never understand why), and they will actually fight over who gets to sweep or use the dustpan. Sweeping on a daily basis is kind of mandatory with babies, toddlers, or preschoolers (or maybe even husbands?) in your home because most of their food ends up on the floor. The only problem with sweeping and spot cleaning on a daily basis is that I probably don’t mop as often as I should, but it’s not like I’m giving my 13 month old the cheerio that landed on the floor or anything…

How do you feel about spring cleaning? Do you do any of these tasks on a daily basis? Is there anything you would add to the list?

Leave a Reply

