mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Corn, Leek & Tomato Whole Wheat Pizza

on June 11, 2013

Hey everyone! It’s Sarah, and I’m back after a three week break, during which time I moved, unpacked, decorated, discovered a groundhog living in our backyard, shuttled my kids to and from preschool near our old town (a 45 minute drive each way), caught said groundhog, hosted my son’s fourth birthday party, discovered a litter of baby groundhogs living under our front porch, made multiple trips to the doctor for pink eye, and so forth. Needless to say, cooking has been at the bottom of my to do list recently.

I’ve had good intentions to cook – checking out my new local grocery stores and purchasing lots of food. I just haven’t necessarily been cooking the most interesting or elaborate meals with that food. (I’ve also been checking out the local take out because we didn’t have ANY take out in our old town. At least none that I would want to eat or feed my children). I decided it’s finally time to get acquainted with my new kitchen and use up some of the stuff that’s been sitting in my refrigerator.

One of the nice things about our new town is that we can get around a lot by walking. Unfortunately we aren’t within walking distance of a grocery store, but we can walk to the dry cleaner, bagel shop, restaurants, a few antique shops, frozen yogurt shop, pizza joint, hair salons, and a yoga studio. This past Saturday I loaded all three of my boys into our new wheels and got a workout pushing them to the farmer’s market (funny how they were the ones who were so tired after that trip).

Image

I picked up some fresh sheep’s milk ricotta at the farmer’s market and decided that it would be delicious with the leeks and corn that had almost reached their expiration date sitting in my refrigerator, along with the tomatoes sitting on my counter. Again, I’m not in a full swing cooking mood, so I decided something easy – pizza, of course. My oldest son was a little disappointed that this pizza wasn’t topped with pepperoni, but he still happily gobbled it up. Serve this pizza with a salad and you have the perfect quick and easy warm weather meal to eat outside while sipping a glass of white wine. Cheers to dining al fresco again!

Oh, and in case you’ve never seen a baby groundhog… they’re definitely cute, but not so cute when you find out there are two more where that one came from!

Image

CORN, LEEK & TOMATO WHOLE WHEAT PIZZA

  • 3 earns of corn
  • Large handful of cherry tomatoes
  • 3 leeks, sliced thin
  • Ricotta cheese
  • Whole wheat pizza crust

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees.

Start by slicing your leeks and cleaning them well. I like to use a salad spinner to remove all the grit.

Remove the corn from the cob (something I love to do for some reason).

Image

Cut your cherry tomatoes in half.

Image

Heat some olive oil in a pan and sautee leeks until they begin to soften (don’t forget to season with some salt and pepper). Next add tomatoes and continue to cook until they begin to burst. Add corn to leek/tomato mixture and cook a few more minutes until the corn softens a bit. Taste for seasoning. A couple splashes of white wine would be delicious here, but I didn’t have it, so… (it was still very good)

Now it’s time for the ricotta. This fresh sheep’s milk ricotta was so delicious. Waaaaaay better than any store bought version. I highly recommend finding some.

Image

Roll out your dough and top with some crumbled ricotta. Add as much of the leek/tomato/corn mixture as you would like. I didn’t use it all, but I will most certainly eat the leftovers straight out of bowl. This mixture really would be a wonderful side dish for grilled steak.

Image

Drizzle a little olive oil over the pizza, then bake for 15 to 20 minutes until crust browns. Chop up some fresh basil and sprinkle over the pizza.

I usually have very bad luck with growing basil in my kitchen, but this plant I bought at Whole Foods a day or two after we moved seems to like it here as much as we do!

Image

Let the pizza cool for a minute or two, then slice it up and enjoy!

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

