mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

How Do You Do Your Grocery Shopping?

on June 19, 2013

Image

I hate to admit it, but I’m kind of over food.  I’m over thinking about what we’re going to have for breakfast, lunch, and dinner on a daily basis.  I’m over the colossal clean up in the kitchen and the dining room after every meal.  And mostly, I’m over shopping for food.  Hello, my name is Sarah, and I’m a serial grocery shopper.

Some weeks it seems like I’m making a trip to a grocery store every day of the week.  I go to Whole Foods for produce and meat, Trader Joe’s for organic frozen fruit (for smoothies, of course), King’s for everyday stuff, and the farmer’s market for whatever looks good.  Since our move, I’ve added Fairway and Fresh Direct (based in NYC/Brooklyn, but both have made their way to my neck of the woods in New Jersey!) back to my list of grocery stops.  (If you’re not familiar with either of those – Fairway is quite possibly the best grocery store in the world.  Their huge selection is almost overwhelming, and I could easily spend three hours in that store perusing the aisles.  Fresh Direct allows you to order groceries online and have them delivered to your door.  While convenient, I don’t always love their selection).  Can you see how all this grocery shopping is driving me nuts?  It also makes me feel like I’m spending a lot more money on groceries than I would if I shopped at one store.  Why has it taken me this long to realize the insanity of this?

It’s just that I haven’t found an all-in-one store that has everything we like and eat on a regular basis.  While I try to buy mostly organic, there are some things Whole Foods doesn’t carry that we eat.  I’m not proud to admit that I LOVE Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing, but I do.  And Whole Foods doesn’t carry it.  I mean, what else am I supposed to dip my organic baby carrots in?  Sure it’s great that groceries are being delivered to my front door tonight between 9:00PM and 11:00PM, but shopping for a lot of groceries online is like shopping in a grocery store ten times larger than the normal one without a list.  Scatterbrained.  And they don’t have a huge selection of organic food.  Trader Joe’s is awesome for some frozen stuff (and their $3 wine), but it usually doesn’t have a great produce selection.  My local grocery store, King’s, is the obvious choice when I need things like milk, paper towels, toilet paper, or when I need to do a quick restock of some fruit, but I don’t love their meat selection.  The farmer’s market is great for local produce and cheese, but sometimes I can’t wait until Saturday for those things.

It’s telling when my oldest son asks on a daily basis, “Are we going to Whole Foods (or insert one of the many other grocery stores mentioned) today?”, but what’s a gal to do?  Do I sacrifice buying the best produce and meat to get all my shopping done in one store?  Do I dig deeper into my pockets (and give up ranch dressing) to do all my shopping at Whole Foods?  Is it worth me spending an entire Tuesday lost somewhere in aisle #245 in Fairway while I feed my kids snack #87 to keep them happy?

Can anyone else relate?  Any advice?  How do you do your grocery shopping?

One response to “How Do You Do Your Grocery Shopping?

  1. […] How Do You Do Your Grocery Shopping? Jun […]

Leave a Reply

