mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Crispy Green Bean & Tomato Salad

on June 20, 2013

Yesterday was one of those perfect summer days – not too hot, no humidity, and a gentle breeze.  We spent pretty much all day outside playing with bubbles, riding scooters, cutting paper with craft scissors (my kids’ obsession), and cleaning our front porch.  Cleaning a front porch may not sound exciting to you, but there was a hose involved.  Of course my boys wanted to help!

When we moved into this house a few weeks ago I was so happy to discover a few peony and hydrangea bushes in our backyard.  Peonies are my absolute favorite flowers, but unfortunately they didn’t produce much.  The hydrangea bushes, however, are in full bloom (something we discovered today).  My boys may have a future in flower arranging… quite the helpers!

Image

What better way to end this quintessential summer day than with a light, summery meal?

I was flipping through a recent issue of Bon Appetit and was inspired by a page dedicated to green beans.  We don’t eat them often, but I do enjoy them.  I just don’t usually get too creative with them.  Luckily I just had a bunch delivered to my house the other night, so what better time to start experimenting with them than now?  Granted, I didn’t come up with anything too crazy – although, is it a salad?  A slaw?  A side dish?  A main dish?  I think it could be whatever you want it to be.  Add some hardboiled eggs and kalamata olives and you’d have a hearty salad, or serve it alongside some chicken like I did.  Either way, it works!

CRISPY GREEN BEEN & TOMATO SALAD

  • ½ lb green beans
  • handful of cherry tomatoes
  • 6 oz greek yogurt
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 T white wine vinegar
  • a few drizzles of olive oil
  • ½ red onion, sliced thin
  • salt & pepper

Add greek yogurt, juice of 1 lemon, white wine vinegar, and a few drizzles of olive oil to a bowl and whisk to combine.  Add salt & pepper to taste.

Image

Thinly slice your onion and add it to the yogurt dressing.  Set the bowl aside.  It’s time for the beans.

Wash your beans, then use a vegetable peeler to create thin ribbons.  I found it easiest to lay the bean on the cutting board and run the vegetable peeler down the bean.  I was able to get about 3 “ribbons” per bean.

Image

*If you don’t want as much crunch to your salad, simply blanch your beans for a few minutes.  I’m not sure you would be about to use a vegetable peeler on them after that, but you could always just slice them thinly by hand.  I personally like crunch.

Toss the beans in a bowl with a tiny pinch of salt and pepper.  Add as much or as little of the dressing as you would like, then add chopped cherry tomatoes.  Chill for about an hour before serving, then top with a little bit of shaved parmesan.

Image

Image

Note:  In follow up to my post yesterday about having groceries delivered to your door – well, another downside to shopping this way is you’re not the one actually picking the food.  I was originally going to make a feta-based dressing for this salad, but the feta delivered to my door was rotten.  Luckily the yogurt worked just as well!

Leave a Reply

