mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Is Summer Vacation Over Yet?

on July 9, 2013

schools out

Is summer vacation over yet?  I can assure you that’s the first time I’ve ever asked that question.  When I was a kid it was more like, “awwwww, summer vacation’s over already?!”, but now that my kids finished their first year of preschool I find myself asking that question every day once in a while.

Before I go on, please know that I love my kids more than a beautiful summer day or the best cheeseburger in the world.  I also know that I’m super lucky to be able to stay home with them, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.  It’s just that everyone grumbles about their boss every now and then, right?  My bosses just happen to be 4, 2 ½, and 15 months old.  Now that I got that out of the way…

My 4 year old started preschool last September and my 2 ½ year old started in January.  Mind you they were only going to school 2 days a week, but for a few hours on those 2 days it was just me and the baby (I forgot how much easier it was to go grocery shopping with just one kid).  Everyone seemed to enjoy the little break away from each other – the kids loved school and I felt a bit re-energized after being bombarded with hugs and kisses at pick-up.  The 3 weekdays off from school seemed to go smoothly as well with no hiccups in our regular schedule.  Trips to the park, playing outside, crafts, and running errands were enough to keep them happy.

For some reason though, the summer has turned them a little crazy.  No matter how many activities we cram into a day, it never seems to be enough.  Apparently all of this is getting old for them:

Image

Rough life, huh?

They don’t understand what boredom is, but I’m pretty sure they’re trying to tell me they’re bored when they walk away with their shoulders slumped, whining about something or other. But kids, I’m running out of ideas!  We’re outside the majority of the day, but the bubbles, picnics, trips to the park, scooters, bike riding, sidewalk chalk, crafts, and playing in water don’t seem to be good enough anymore.  Luckily the swingset from our old house just arrived and is keeping them busy for the time being because coming up with ways to keep these guys entertained is certainly starting to become a challenge.

I’m chalking their grumpiness/boredom up to the change in their routine, maybe not being stimulated enough (or maybe being overstimulated?), the heat, their exhaustion from playing outside all day, and their very short attention spans, but I’m not sure what else I can do to keep them happy besides provide them with an hourly dose of ice cream.  I’m pretty sure I would win Mom of the Year if I did that.  So tell me… How do you keep your little ones busy (and happy) during the summer?

All joking aside, I’m really not wishing summer away.  We’ve created some awesome memories and have shared lots of giggles.  What I wouldn’t give for a 75 degree day though…

Leave a Reply

