mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Pineapple Pork Kebabs with Israeli Couscous

on July 17, 2013

While watching the news the other night, I learned we are in the midst of our third heat wave of the summer. Since it’s only the middle of July, that pretty much means back-to-back heat waves. Actually, it’s more like one loooong heat wave. But it’s not like I needed the weatherman to tell me that. All I have to do is step outside and I instantly start to melt. But this is what we all crave in the middle of February, right?

I haven’t caught the obligatory “trying to fry an egg on the sidewalk” segment on the news yet, but I’m tempted to try it so that I don’t have to turn on my stove in the morning and create extra heat in my kitchen. Which is why I’ve been grilling a lot lately (although I still melt while I’m standing over the grill). At least I’m rewarded by the air conditioning and a great meal when I finally make it back inside.

Image

And this meal was totally worth the sweat. It was based on a Martha Stewart recipe I found online when I googled “pork and pineapple.” I just changed a few things here and there – I used fresh pineapple and pineapple puree instead of the canned stuff, I didn’t use as much honey, I added a few things like garlic and red pepper flakes, I marinated the meat for a few hours, and I used Israeli couscous as the base for the side dish instead of rice. This meal was really light, yet surprisingly filling. Not to mention it’s totally kid-friendly – pork, a little bit of honey, little balls of pasta (which are so much fun to clean up off the floor after dinner), and pineapple. My oldest son asked for not just seconds, but thirds!

You’ll have to forgive me for not snapping a bunch of photos while I was cooking. I was too busy wiping my brow.

PINEAPPLE PORK KEBABS WITH ISRAELI COUSCOUS

  • 1 lb pork tenderloin
  • 1 pineapple
  • 1 T honey
  • 1 large garlic clove
  • Grated ginger
  • Red pepper flakes
  • Salt & pepper
  • Red bell pepper
  • Israeli couscous, prepared according to directions on package
  • A few scallions, cut on the diagonal

First, the pineapple. After removing the skin, dice about 1 cup pretty small, which will be added to the couscous. Cut a few big chunks that will be used for the kebabs. Puree whatever is leftover (I ended up with about 1 ½ cups of puree).

Time to make the marinade. Add 1 T honey, 1 large garlic clove, a few grates of ginger, a small pinch of red pepper flakes, a drizzle of olive oil, and salt & pepper to the pineapple puree and puree again (I used an immersion blender).

Next, cut up your tenderloin into medium-sized chunks. Add marinade to the pork, reserving some for brushing on later while grilling the kebabs. Refrigerate the pork for a few hours.

Cut your red pepper into similar sized chunks as the tenderloin. Discard the marinade you used on the pork. Thread the pork, red pepper, and large pineapple chunks onto skewers.

Oil your grill. Grill the kebabs, brushing occasionally with the reserved marinade, until the pork is cooked through and the peppers begin to char – about 10 to 15 minutes.

To the couscous, add the small-diced pineapple, scallions, another few grates of ginger, and a small drizzle of honey and olive oil. Season with salt & pepper.

Serve kebabs with couscous.

IMG_8865

Leave a Reply

