mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

What To Do With 16 Summer Squash?

on July 18, 2013

Two days ago I picked up my (very heavy) CSA box from the designated location near my house.  Sometimes I let my daughters help me carry it to the car.  But not today.  Though I could have used the help, I was mostly just trying to survive the trek down the driveway, keeping everything and everyone in tact.  When I got home, I was not surprised to find a head of cabbage (heavy), 3 pints of blueberries surrounded by 6 ears of corn (moderately heavy) and 16 summer squash (seriously?!)

Now what?

The blessing of a CSA is a-ma-zing food.  Seriously.  The part of me that is overwhelmed by what to do (and I’ve already confessed my apprehension to you before) is often hushed by the sound of fresh veggies simmering on my stove or the tumbling mounds of blueberries falling out of my cup of oatmeal every morning.  The curse of the CSA is the tick-tock of the expiration date and the looming reminder that in 7 days I have another hefty load coming my way.

During my best weeks, I prepare soups and sauces, muffins and pancakes, full of delicious, vitamin-packed freshness.  During my worst weeks, I’m chopping up lettuce in pieces that are too big and throwing it in marinara sauce only to have my children scream “I don’t like salad” before throwing them on the floor.  Fantastic.

This week, seeing 16 squash overwhelmed me.  So I took to our Facebook page where several very helpful people gave me quick, easy ideas.  I started with muffins, since we love them as a family and it’s a process my daughters love to help with.

My sister sent me a great recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie (and how could I resist that!) for “Chocolate Chip Zucchini Muffins” found here: http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2013/04/25/chocolate-chip-zucchini-bread-muffins/

I altered the recipe to fit my own preferences and ingredients on hand.  It looked something like this:

Chocolate Chip Zucchini Muffins

1 1/2C whole wheat flour

3/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/3 C evaporated cane juice

1/2 C mini dark chocolate chunks

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/3 C coconut oil

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1 C zucchini grated

INSTRUCTIONS: Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and grease a mini muffin pan with olive oil spray.  Combine dry ingredients in a mixing bowl and set aside.  Combine all wet ingredients in a second bowl.  Mix wet ingredients into dry and immediately portion into mini muffin pan.  Bake 19 minutes and cool before eating (if that’s even possible…since it’s not in my house)choc chip zucchini 2

One response to “What To Do With 16 Summer Squash?

Leave a Reply

