mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Homemade Pizza Night – A Family Favorite

on September 19, 2013

Like most kids, mine love pizza.  Even though we do call in an order from our favorite spot in town on occasion, I always feel better when we make it at home ourselves.  Lately, I have frozen whole wheat dough on hand for such an occasion.  Although it does require more planning than picking up the phone and waiting 30 minutes (the saving grace of the pizza order, after all) it takes just about as much time once the pieces are pulled together.  And my girls are chomping at the bit lately to help me make dinner almost every night, making this an easy one to let them jump in on.

pizza claire

In this case, I set the oven to 350 degrees and gathered:

whole wheat dough (taken out of the freezer in the morning)

homemade sauce (that I had made the week before from my CSA ingredients) – but jarred works just as well

mozzarella – any form will do.  This time, we used small balls, which were fun for the girls to “plop” down.  (smaller than bocconcini, traditionally the size of an egg)

Once I sprayed the baking sheet with extra virgin olive oil, I spread the dough out evenly (letting the girls press out the corners) and then gave them each a spoon to distribute the sauce and cheese

pizza girls 2

About 30 minutes later, we were pulling out a delicious pizza from the oven and the girls were excited to dig into “their creation”.  Someday they make even let me add veggies on top.  (For now, I’ll remind them that the sauce is full of tomatoes, onion, garlic and zucchini)

Bonus with the balled mozzarella, is they melt into “ghosts” for Halloween.  Check it out!

Leave a Reply

