mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

SCENTED HOMEMADE PLAY DOUGH!

on September 24, 2013

Play dough

I read dozens of blogs posts every week and while I pin, save, print many of the craft ideas that I come across, I seldom actually do any. Raising three kids under 4 and running a business keeps the crazy in my schedule at a steady level. I come across homemade play dough at least twice a month, and while I think it’s cute, we have an arsenal of it, so it didn’t excite me. But then, I came across scented home made play dough and I was instantly transported back to the scratch n’ sniff stickers on my childhood (I don’t even want to know what kind of toxins we were sniffin’). Soooo, I decided to give it a try.

I knew the kids would love dunking their hands in a gooey messy glob of flour and water and oil, and if it worked, it may keep them happy for a good 15-20 minutes. I set it up at the kitchen table to contain the mess, gave everyone a bowl (even the 18m old), measuring tools, and allowed them to pick a color.

Ingredients (Good for 5 balls of play dough)

4 cups flour + 1.5 cups salt mixed in large bowl
1 1/4 warm water
2.5 tblspns veg oil
food coloring or washable poster paint
spices or oils for scents, such as cinammon, nutmeg, ginger, peppermint oil, etc.

Set up 5 small bowls and one large bowl. Mix the flour and salt well in large bowl. In small bowls, pour 1/4 cup warm water, 1/2 tblspn veg oil, few drops of food coloring or good squirt of paint and spice or scented oil. Then add 1 cup of the flour/salt mixture to each bowl. Mix with hands or spoon (we used hands) and dust with flour if sticky. Once you form a ball, knead the dough until smooth. Play! When done, place each one a ziploc bag with as little air as possible. Voila!

Yes, it was a little messy, but the kids absolutley loved making it and playing with it afterwards. They smell awesome (unlike real play dough) and would make great gifts for friends too!

source: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C2ytbSa3mPg

Leave a Reply

