mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Cranberry Chutney …and My Kids Actually Ate It!

on November 12, 2013

cranberry chutneyWhen I approach a new recipe I often have to pass it through the “will my kids eat this” test. Does it have a weird texture? Does it have more than one new ingredient? Does it look or smell like something that they recently decided was no longer worth their time?

It’s a full time job. On top of being their mom. Which is like two full time jobs in itself.

Last week I received two large boxes of fresh cranberries in my CSA box.  Cranberries are not something I normally buy, though I love their tart flavor.  My daughter Claire loves raspberries, so I figured she might be up for a new recipe and even though I had a lot of them, I didn’t want them to go to waste.  So, I looked around my cook books to see if I could find anything appealing.  Naturally, when I came across this recipe for cranberry chutney I almost turned the page without even glancing at the ingredients.  Chutney?  That would never pass the kid test.  Chunks of food mixed together in an unidentifiable sauce?  Yeah, my almost-4-year-olds are always up for adventure at the dinner table. But this was a recipe from one of my favorite cook books, Clean Food.  My kids loved so many of her other recipes.  Maybe it was worth a look.

2 C fresh cranberries

1 C raisins

1/2 C sucanat (cane sugar)

1/2 C maple syrup

1 T cinnamon

1 tsp ginger

1 C water

1 small onion, chopped

3 medium apples, cored and chopped

4 stalks of celery, chopped

To Prepare

Combine cranberries, raisins, sucanat, maple syrup, cinnamon, ginger and water in Dutch oven. Place over medium heat and cook 15 minutes. Stir in onion, apples and celery and cook 15 minutes more. Remove from heat and serve.  Chutney can be made in advance and stored in an airtight container in the freezer.

Easy enough and at the very least I knew I would love it (that still has to count for something, right?).  Since I was making a pork roast with sweet potatoes and apples for dinner last night, it seemed like a great opportunity to add a spoonful of cranberry chutney on the side and let the fall flavors do their magic.
As soon as my daughters sat down at the table, I knew I was in for it.
Rachel: What’s this? (squishy face, poking at it with her finger)
Me: It’s called cranberry chutney.  It is raisins, syrup, cranberries…
Rachel: Yuck. Ew. (pulling her finger back as if it bit her)
Me: You don’t have to like it, but you do have to try it.  I really think you’ll like this one.
Rachel: (takes a bite and grimaces, bracing for the worst) chew, chew, chew.  Grabs for more.  Finishes everything on her plate.
Victory!  And I made sure not to say a word.  In the hopes that she’ll eat it again someday.  Like tomorrow…
Source: Terry Walters, Clean Food – http://terrywalters.net/2011/03/cranberry-chutney/
Leave a Reply

