mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Easy, Homemade Chicken Pot Pie

on November 15, 2013

I’ve loved Chicken Pot Pie since we first met in my early 20’s and every time I encounter it on a menu, I order it.  That said, I’ve never been brave enough to make it myself.  Anything with a pie crust scares me, I’m a cook, not a baker (and yes, there is a HUGE difference).  But I recently tried Katie’s homemade Chicken Pot Pie (which is her mom’s recipe and it was amazing), so I was determined to try it.

I tweaked it a little, but it was just as delicious and my kids and husband all LOVED it.  Here it is…

Ready Made Pie Crust (I used this one)

2 tblspn Olive Oil

1 small onion (diced)

2 Large Carrots (diced)

3/4 cup sweet corn (fresh or frozen)

1-1.5 cups of diced or shredded chicken (I used roasted chicken)

1 tbspn flour

8oz stock, chicken or veg

1/2 cup milk or cream

1 tsp tumeric (optional)

IMG_1242

Heat oven to 350.  Heat oil in large pan, add onions, garlic and carrot an cook for 5-7 minutes, until golden.

IMG_1245

Add chicken and corn, cook for 2-3 minutes.

IMG_1249Add flour, and cook for 2-3 minutes.

IMG_1253Add tumeric (if desired), season with salt and pepper.

IMG_1255Add chicken broth, reduce for 3-5 minutes.  Add milk and allow to thicken for 3 minutes.

Line pie dish with pie crust, add chicken/veg mix and cover with remaining pie crust.  Pinch the edges by hand or with a fork.  You can also brush the crust with a beaten egg for a shiny, golden crust.

Bake for 20-25 minutes and voila, deliciousness awaits you!IMG_1269

Leave a Reply

