mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Family Movie Night: Kids Baking Championship

on June 18, 2015

KB0104_Duff-Hollis-Valerie_s4x3.jpg.rend.sni10colLike many families, we love a good movie night.  Lately, instead of a box office hit from Disney or Pixar, we’ve been watching DVR’s episodes of the Kids Baking Championship on Food Network.  My daughters love helping in the kitchen and I am admittedly tired of the rotation of cartoons that they want to watch so I hoped it would be a hit.

Boy, was it.

We all loved it instantly.  These kids are only 10, 11, 12 years old.  Amazing skill, poise, confidence, humor.  So entertaining and very brave.  I immediately loved that my girls were not only watching a show about baking but also about the amazing things kids can do all by themselves, and sometimes, as in my favorite moment in the series, together.

In this clip, Jackson burns his hand on a pot and Annika comes over to help him finish his task.  Unfortunately, I’ve been trained by other reality competition shows (and life) to wonder, “does  she thinks this will help her chances?”  A minute later, her expression never changing from honest concern for Jackson finishing the competition, I realized, no, she’s just a great kid.  They don’t think this way.”  She gave new meaning to the word competitor, in a way that I’d never be able to articulate to my daughters.

Now, more than ever we play “The Cooking Show” at meal times.  As I sit down I’m often asked (with a twirl of the hand and a motion to my plate) “what did YOU make?” insisting that I explain my dish in a way that is worthy of moving on to the next level.  Fortunately, I know just what the judges like so I can usually describe their favorite dishes with ease.  But I’ll be honest, I do love moving onto the next level as much as they do.

One response to “Family Movie Night: Kids Baking Championship

  1. […] So, when we started tuning into the 2nd season of the Food Network Kids Baking Championship, I thought I would take their growing interest in the kitchen to our own competition.  (You may remember from last year that we are big fans). […]

Leave a Reply

