mysuperfoods

Super Starts Here.

Five Soups Your Kids Will Love

on January 10, 2014

Soups

 

Soup has been the lunch du jour at our house since the polar vortex made a guest appearance in NJ.  There are so many reasons to love soup, especially when feeding little ones. You can make huge quantities and freeze easily; you can “hide” all kinds of healthy things like lentils and kale, and puree it into a smooth, creamy consistency; it takes 5 minutes to warm up and serve…you get the picture.  I make nearly every weekend and serve it at least 2-3 times a week for lunch. I have tried many, many recipes, some were huge successes, some not so huge… here are my kids absolute favorites.

1. Creamy Butternut Squash & Apple Soup – This one of my family’s favorites! The combination of apples, sweet butternut squash and creamy coconut milk is a real treat. I have made this recipe with roasted butternut squash when I have time to roast it and with fresh peeled, and both are awesome. I don’t use ginger because my kids are not fans, but I do add cumin.

2. Broccoli Cheese Soup – Broccoli is my children’s favorite vegetable, so this soup is is slam dunk for us, but because it mild and creamy, and you can add shredded cheese to it, even kids who refuse broccoli may just give a shot.

3. Sweet Potato, Corn and Kale – This a great recipe to follow as you can substitute just about any group of veggies as long as you use sweet potato as a base, and you can use any liquid combo, either water and a “milk”, ie rice, almond, coconut etc, or just a broth.  This soup is a great way to get 2-3 servings of veggies in at one meal and it purees so well that you can offer in a cup with a straw to make it more fun!

4. Creamy Tomato Soup – Another easy to make soup that kids love, especially with a grilled cheese sandwich! I love this Ina Garten recipe, but I do leave out the basil because I don’t always have it and I don’t want to mess with a good thing.  I also cut out the last step of passing through a food mill and just puree it.  This freezes really well for school lunches too!

5. Portuguese Chicken Soup – This is the chicken soup that I grew up on and still love.  It’s made with rice and has lemon and mint flavors, exactly what you need when fighting off a cold.  It’s also filling enough to be a meal.  Here’s is Emeril’s version of it, which exactly like mine except I add chopped carrots for extra nutrition.


Leave a comment